Chug a Lug Lug, for the Plugged Ducts – A Post For Other Breastfeeding Mothers

You’re not probably going to care about this post, unless you’re a mother who has breast fed.  So, carry on, if you choose.

For those who don’t know, which is likely all of you, I exclusively pump.  My little sweetie Sam, doesn’t latch right, for whatever reason, and I had to make the switch if he was going to get the good stuff.

For the first time the other day, I experienced my first plugged up breast.  It hurt like a… well uh…. I guess I’ll keep it PG and say like you’ve had the workout of your life and your so sore you can’t move.  It hurt like that, ON MY BOOB.  And yes, it was just one boob.  Ouch.

So I brought this on myself by being lazy.  Or so I’ve read, and if you compare it to the last week, it’s true.  I was so lazy one day, that I went 13 hours between breast pumpings.  And the surrounding times weren’t that much better.  That’s a friggin long time.  Can you imagine a baby not wanting to eat for 13 hours?  NO. No is the correct aswer here.  So our boobs weren’t intended to go that long without… relief.  Plus, I don’t drink enough water.  Never have, and likely never will.  It’s my reality, and something I have to work on.

So, I wanted to post what I did about it.  Step one, GOOGLE it.  I google everything.  I don’t remember life before google, or atleast it being very informational.  😉 (Sarcasm here.) Google brought me great info, including:

pump, pump, pump… often as you can. Massage breast, even though it hurts, while pumping.  Did I say that hurt?  Place a heating pad on the boob, as often as you can.  This is a great time to work on your Netflix marathons.  Mine is Mad Men.  Take a hot shower/bath, or lots of them.  Take Ibuprofen.  Repeat.

It took me a couple of days of this to work it out.  There were several other options for working on it, including some for other situations, like working with this issue.  If you’ve got the plugged ducts, google it yourself, ask your doctor, do what works for you.  I’m not a doctor, nor am I trying to be one.  Seek help if your boobs are red in appearance, puss is leaking, sores… blah blah blah.  You get the idea.

Here’s a website that I found helpful: Baby Center

ANYWAY… to the point.  I’m currently drinking water like a whale.  I have to because, I should, but mostly because my milk supply has disappeared.  My good producing, bread winner boob is out of service.  I used to get 5 or more ounces out of it, now it’s 1-2.  This means more supplementing, and less breast milk. I never have enough anyway, because my little guy is a piglet, and now this.  And I did it to myself.  My boob now thinks that it isn’t wanted anymore.  Poor booby.

Lesson of the day:  Drink your water and pump your boobs.

Chug a lug!!

CHUG-A-LUG-V1-1

One Comment Add yours

  1. Amber says:

    I know how that feels. Not too long after Nikky was born I had Mastitis. It was absolutely horrible. I felt like I was going to die. My milk ducts in both breasts were clogged. This is not an exaggerated… My boobs were the size of basketballs. I couldn’t wear a bra. My doctor have me pain medication because it was so painful… I doubled up on my meds when I rubbed ‘the girls’ in a really hot shower and I also did the heating pad and rubbed also… This went on for a little over a week. It’s the worst feeling ever…
    I hope you don’t have to go through any like that again… As I said I know the feeling…

Leave a Reply

