In Loving Memory

Image

There are no words to describe the sadness that our family feels, as we announce the untimely death of Jeanette Spiegelberg.  She died unexpectedly on June 17th, 2014, of an unknown cause.  She was training for the Seattle to Portland bike ride when she died.  Jeanette was our loving mother, step-mother, grandma, mother-in-law, friend, and so much more.  For me, she was my mother-in-law.  I regrettably did not get to know her very well, because my husband and I just got married last October.  During the last week, after hearing of her death, we spent time with the whole family, all 7 of Keith’s siblings, their spouses, children, and extended friends and family.  As the week drew on, I grew increasingly aware of the fact that I am missing out on the mother-in-law of any woman’s dreams.  I learned about how creative and loving she was, adventurous and athletic, genuine and amazing.  When others were trying to put her into words, they had a hard time because she was more awesome than anyone could describe.  

It was finally settled that all 8 of these siblings had won the “mom lottery”. 

When I listened to each person tell stories and attempt to describe who Jeanette was, it became clear to me that she was what the “fruits of the spirit” call us to be. (Galatians 5:22-23: ..the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, long suffering, kindness, goodness, gentleness, self control.)  For anyone, spiritual or not, these are things to strive for.  She set the mark for other people to live by, and was a fantastic example of who we should be.  I am saddened because I did not have the chance to know such a great woman, and the world is less of a place without her.  Heaven must be enriched by her presence.

Rest in Peace, Jeanette Spiegelberg, you are greatly missed.

January 10, 1954 – June 17, 2014

Leave a Reply

